AWW 2013 – Signing up

2013 Australian Women Writers' Reading ChallengeEven though I didn’t meet the goals of the AWW 2012 Reading Challenge, there were many elements that I enjoyed about the whole initiative.

I’m writing this on New Year’s Day, and I’ll be signing up for AWW 2013 shortly. It’s fun to think of taking on the challenge this year with a cohort of readers from the 2012 round.

Twitter makes a huge difference in the level of engagement I would have in a challenge. If it was up to reviews only to generate discussion and chatting, I’d probably never get off the blocks.

Having the everydayness of Twitter chat, though, makes it easier to feel a part of the AWW community. It’s also dead easy to pick up more recommendations than you’ll ever know what to do with!

I really enjoyed reviewing more books on the blog.

I’ll be aiming for the Franklin level this year: 10 books read, and at least 6 reviewed. Another element I’m adding is that the books I read this year for the challenge will be from sci-fi and fantasy, and also horror.

There were quite a few books that I didn’t get around to reading in 2012, including Melina Marchetta’s Lumatere series, more Kirsty Eagar, and Queenie Chan’s The Dreaming.

I haven’t decided on all the books for 2013 yet as I will be happily trawling 2012 reviews and recs. If you have a book you’d rec, feel free!

5 thoughts on “AWW 2013 – Signing up

  1. Dionne 02/01/2013 / 7:45 pm

    For Fantasy, Sydney author Karen Miller has many books out and I will be a bit naughty and recommend my novel Shadows of the Realm. I’ve also read and enjoyed Kate Forsyth’s books too. Good luck with the challenge. I’m doing it for the first time this year and I’m looking forward to reading some fantastic books!

    • Tseen Khoo 02/01/2013 / 9:26 pm

      Hi Dionne! Thanks for dropping by – and I welcome all recs, so that’s not ‘naughty’ at all! Gave me a chance to visit your blog + check out Shadows on Goodreads. It’s now on my possibilities list, and I’ll be telling my SIL about it, too (she’s a dragon freak).

      Look forward to seeing you around the AWW 2013 ridges!

      • Dionne 02/01/2013 / 11:05 pm

        Wow, so cool! Thanks Tseen. It’s nice to know there are other dragon freaks out there ;). Looking forward to seeing you around too. Happy reading!

  2. Tsana 02/01/2013 / 10:49 pm

    In a couple of days my roundup of all the spec fic reviewed as part of the challenge will be up on the AWW website, so hopefully that will give you some ideas.

    In the mean time,
    Fantasy: Jennifer Fallon, Glenda Larke, Rowena Cory Daniells, Trudi Canavan
    Science fiction: Marianne de Pierres, Andrea K Höst (self-published but excellent, she was shortlisted for a (fantasy) Aurealis award a couple of years ago)
    Horror: Kaaron Warren

    • Tseen Khoo 02/01/2013 / 11:26 pm

      Excellent! Thanks so much, Tsana – will definitely keep an eye out for the spec fic round-up post. Great line-up of authors you’ve recced, too. Many are new to me; am keen to check them out!

Leave a Reply

