ALW – not a sauce

>

Andrew Lloyd-Webber
Photograph:
Bernard Gotfryd/Getty Images
[Source: guardian.co.uk]

I was going to blog about going to “The Music of Andrew Lloyd Webber,” the live stage-show that presented a medley of ALW’s greatest hits. I even wrote five pages of notes on the train the day after I’d been to the show. Admittedly, I only wrote those notes about it because I was bereft of my phone (having left it on the table at home), and I’m unused to travelling on public transport without busy hands. Now, I think I’ve left it too late. I was going to write about expectations and indulging those we love by enduring things we know aren’t our scene, but the emotional momentum of it has left me. Still, I think it’s worth saying this: When the encore started up and I realised it was “Any Dream Will Do” (from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat), I almost cheered. Seriously.

Going to the show was my sister’s idea. They (sis + her partner) gave tickets to the show as my mother’s Xmas present, and I was dragooned into attending as part of the gig. I never really thought of not going once I was asked because…it’s something we’d do for Mum. After work that day, I met up with Mum on Swanston Street and we met the other two upstairs in Cookie, where the waiting staff are hipper than hip. When I went to Gingerboy a while back (we’re talking years, here), the oh-so-self-aware staff were a right royal pain. At Cookie that night, they were gorgeous and attentive without trying too hard. Perfect. We ate very well, ordered the otak-otak dish as we always do, and ended up shouting at each other across the table as the restaurant filled up. It’s a great spot, that high-ceilinged, dark-wooded space, but noisy.

Walking into the throngs arriving at the Regent Theatre for ALW, it felt a bit odd because the majority of the audience was much older and there was much wearing of fur stoles. My sister observed that the crowd was somewhat different from when she was last at the Regent for a Nick Cave concert. The Regent is a stunning venue, ALW or not.

Regent Theatre, Collins Street, Melbourne
[Source: www.travelvictoria.com.au]



After bagging the $20 souvenir booklet for Mum, with just one disbelieving squawk at the price from my sister, we went in and…had a damn fine evening. It was FUN. I had thought that I’d squirm and be slightly bored, but the truth of the matter is: I enjoyed it. My immediate company was sympatico, my mother loved the show, the theatre was sumptuous and grand, our dinner was delish, and we ended the evening with hot drinks in Hardware Lane as it was shutting down. What’s not to like?

4 thoughts on “ALW – not a sauce

  1. Food Floozy 14/07/2011 / 12:28 pm

    Fairly inappropriate comment here, however that photo of Andrew Lloyd-Webber – he looks just like Austin Powers!! 😀

    • Tseen Khoo 15/07/2011 / 5:51 am

      He totally does. Not inappropriate at all! It was the most flattering photo of ALW I could find…seriously.

  2. ES 09/08/2011 / 2:46 am

    are you going to watch the phantom sequel..actually you don’t have to answer this in public….;P

    • Tseen Khoo 09/08/2011 / 12:33 pm

      Noooooooooo. I did not convert to ALWism. I do have to be careful, though, not to be too disparaging about ALW. There are SO MANY fans out there. Rabid fans.

Leave a Reply

