>Is that a can of Angst-Be-Gone?

>I’ve kept this blog since February 2005, long enough that I’ve forgotten earlier entries I’ve made. I’m not sure yet whether this is a good thing, seeing as my blog is currently being linked to various things for different reasons and I can’t remember whether I said bad things about person X, or institution Y. The first few posts of this blog are riddled with meta statements about its identity; ironic, no?

I’ve been hamstrung by my paranoia about this blog for many years, and finally, FINALLY, I’ve reached a point where I just don’t care anymore. It’s so liberating. I wish I could draw you a diagram explaining how I went from a twitchy and nervous blogger who felt she needed to invent aliases for workmates and situations, to one who’s fiercely-keen and not at all concerned that I’m putting all kinds of crapola out there. I’m not sure how it happened, but somewhere along the line, I got sick of doing a double- or triple-take about everything I write. This is a casual and personal blog, one that occasionally addresses and tracks issues about being Asian in Australia; it’s not an academic one that is inviting all manner of critical engagement and essay-style commentary (if these happen, fine; if not, fine). That was one thing I’d decided early on: this blog would NOT be an outlet for academic writing or serious project shaping. That kind of stuff is so in flux that making it concrete in the blogosphere is just a really bad idea, especially if you intend to publish something more in-depth about it. If an intrepid publishing assistant does a quick check that your work is original and finds 1/2 of it on a rambling blogpost? There’s a problem right there. I’ve found these myself in my time as editor of various journal issues and books, and it puts a big question mark over whether it’s worth our while taking it through the review/editing process. The biggest reason, however, is that my brain gets tired. Really, it does. I do academic stuff as a day-job. This blog is not a ‘job’. I gather stuff in a somewhat erratic, well-meaning way (don’t you hate that?), and I use it to ramble, relax, sometimes rant.

Of course, over the years, I’ve become savvier about what kind of material would be unwise in general to slather all over the interwebs. Google searches have a scary tendency to throw back statements such as “[RANDOM CONFERENCE DELEGATE] had such bad hair, and did he know that wearing that kind of gear would be considered culturally insensitive?” years and years later, when that RandomConfDel is now your boss…

2 thoughts on “>Is that a can of Angst-Be-Gone?

  1. e 11/03/2010 / 10:04 am

    >ok. you've given me courage to come out without several pages of disclaimers – eg. don't take my typos and spelling errors, or even ideas and writing style, as academic/creative work samples…it's just a blog!e/scp/lbw/ip

  2. tseen 11/03/2010 / 10:56 pm

    >yes, it's just a blog. yet another one in the millions that circulate in the internet whirlpool!that said, as I've learned, there are some things that I just wouldn't contemplate putting online anymore, whereas once upon a time, I might have considered it 'fun' to do so!

Leave a Reply

