Cyber-peerpressure, you win

>I had been reading about various people’s encounters and repulsions about Twitter. It’s become the ‘new Facebook’ in some ways. This is definitely true for me in terms of Twitter as a topic of water-cooler talk or dinner conversations. Where once folks were extolling the sins/virtues of Fb, it’s now all about Twitter. I still don’t like the idea of Twitter. From what I’ve seen/heard about it, it suffers from many of the same things that irritate me about Fb + more: the incessant (banal?) ‘updates’ (Fb status inanity being one of my pet hates), the same ‘look at my friends’ attitude, the short message box, the need to ‘check in’ (I know you can get feeds, etc, but bloody hell, there are WAY too many feeds in our lives already)…oh, hang on, this wasn’t meant to be an anti-Twitter post. Mea culpa.

This was meant to be a post saying that I’d succumbed and signed up there. I don’t know if anything will come of it (thusly did I first get entangled with Fb), but there you go. What I couldn’t believe was that my first name was already taken! My first name!! As far as I know, there is no-one else in the world with my first name. I had to settle for my full name and, as my (almost) first tweet indicates, I’ve already committed my first faux pas in that medium. Go, me!

There is a more substantial post lurking in my brain somewhere. Alas, it has not yet cohered. I have, however, nixed two posts that were very large whinges against:

a) the ARC, and

b) stupidity + being a journal editor (yes, they do go together well in more ways than one might imagine).

I do consider the public good once in a while.

3 thoughts on “Cyber-peerpressure, you win

  1. Oanh 04/05/2009 / 10:49 am

    >Ha! I, too, have succumbed to the peer pressure and my first name was taken as well – although not at all surprising, I was a rather put out. Should have joined sooner and taken that cyber (un/hyper) real estate…

  2. tseen 05/05/2009 / 1:55 am

    >The urge to cyber-squat one’s preferred handle can be strong! I did this once upon a time when gmail first appeared, and a few other times when new cyberdistractions popped up, then gave up cos, y’know, life. ;)I still don’t know my way around Twitter, and am not sure how one ‘uses’ it. I really do have an ingrained wariness and low derision threshold about Fb status updates and I’m fearful that Twitter will be one long status update…!

  3. e 04/06/2009 / 5:46 am

    >i succumbed, but am one of those people who never went back to twitter after the first week.

Leave a Reply

