>2009 it is

>

Total cliche I’m buying into today: Time does seem to fly ever faster as one gets older. This fact gets ever more disturbing as it becomes ever more true every year.
To try and follow through on at least one thing this year, and to set what will hopefully be a sterling precedent for 2009, I’m going to write about the things I said I’d write about in the last entry. Namely, these were:
  1. Finally going to Gingerboy.

    What’s the point of having special guests in town if you don’t take them somewhere you’ve been wanting to try for ages? On the second day of his workshop, my colleagues and I took our guest to Gingerboy for lunch. It was a last minute booking (made within half an hour of hoping to turn up), and rather rushed because of post-lunch commitments. The restaurant, near where Madame Fang used to be in Crossley Street in the city, has had rave reviews and much hype so I was a bit apprehensive about what it’d be really like. The dining room was delightfully uncrowded when we first turned up, and we were seated at the back corner, which afforded a great view of the interior. This article in Wallpaper* gives you an idea of the ‘look’ – “disco chic shop front” (their words, not mine).

    To the most important thing: the food was excellent. Super tasty and aromatic blend of ingredients and beautiful plating up, large servings (quite good value for money, considering that this type of ambience and style lends itself to overpricing), perfect balance of spices and herbs. This latter point is important to me because I’ve had too many dishes where there’s been a heavy-handedness with spices in general and it drowns out the part they play in enhancing food flavours. You just end up with a mouthful of chewy cardamom or coriander. The staff had a certain attitude which some might appreciate (we didn’t) – sort of knowledgeable, sort of too-cool-for-school…

    Just for the record, we had:

    As starters – son in law eggs with chilli jam and Asian herbs, and steamed pork and garlic chive dumplings with coriander relish.

    As mains (shared) – Singapore noodles, coconut laksa and vegetables; roasted kingfish; deep-fried whole snapper; sweet and sour pork belly.

    It was really unfortunate that we had to rush the latter part of the meal. I loved the look of the desserts (esp sticky black rice, mango and jasmine tea ice cream…or the pear and cinnamon pancake, palm sugar syrup, red bean ice cream…next time!).

  2. Dining coincidences at Kuni’s Japanese Restaurant.

    On the first evening of the workshop, we all went out to dinner at my fave Japanese place in the city, Kuni’s on Little Bourke Street. I’ve been there at least half a dozen times now and have enjoyed every visit. The ambience is spacious yet cosy, uncluttered and comfortable. We had a table of about a dozen and picked our way through a range of sashimi and sushi platters as well as a bunch of entrees (including my cold lotus root addiction). It’s not like we had a raging late night but we would’ve all been there a good 2.5 hours. It was only when we were leaving that I realised a whole other table right next to us (of about a dozen people) was made up of many of my colleagues from work! They’d all retired there after a day of conference-ing. Of all the restaurants in Melb, eh?

  3. And, last but never least, colleagues who make academia worthwhile.

    I’ll be honest and say that I’m not sure what I meant by this now, in the dazzling light of a new year and with looming deadlines that I’m in denial about. I have a small handful of colleagues with whom I seem to be on the same page, and they have senses of humour, too (which is in desperately short supply these days, I’ve found). I’ve also recently met an ‘online’ buddy in person and that was a heartening thing. I have yet to have a bad experience meeting up with virtual buddies.

I fail at New Year’s resolutions, so I normally resist making them. One I will have a stab at, however, is posting more regularly to this blog. I like casual blogging and not-blogging tends to feed on itself (i.e. the more you don’t blog, the less you feel like blogging). I’d like a better record of what I do / think / rant about these days. My hardcopy journal is defunct, and has been for about three years now. I have snippets of journalling from when I travel and am (usually) waiting in airports for flights, but these isolated, moseying blocks don’t really give much context.
4 thoughts on “>2009 it is

  1. e 13/01/2009 / 6:58 am

    >damnit that’s what i forgot to do…visit gingerboy

  2. tseen 13/01/2009 / 10:56 pm

    >Never fear, it’ll probably still be there when you next visit! We could always meet there to talk our heads off… 😉

  3. Oanh 19/01/2009 / 9:29 pm

    >Yes, more blogging. Good NY resolution :-DI too have lots of scraps of writing from waiting (buses, airports, trains) and intentions of gathering it into one place, one day. Ha ha ha ha.Happy 2009 and also happy year of the ox!

  4. tseen 19/01/2009 / 11:45 pm

    >Yes, excellent resolution…now to follow it through. I’m thinking posting at least once a week will get me into some kind of habit. Perhaps. Maybe.I find that my snippet-writing is often of a higher calibre than my regular journalling. It might be removal from everyday distractions and obligations? But, still, they’re very scattered!Happy New Year to you, too! 😀

Leave a Reply

