>The thrills, they be cheap

>Cheap thrill for today? Finding out that both my entries about going to conferences (Conference Cruise I and II) from Academia 101 have been linked by Michigan State University (here). This makes me absurdly pleased because I’d been lamenting (on the inside…) that I hadn’t pimped the blog very well or widely. I wasn’t sure how to do it. It isn’t a formal ‘how to’, and I don’t think some of it would go down well with more conservative types…so I was hesitant to tout it on general academic lists. Also? Didn’t want to look like a self-promoting diva – how does one offer these suggestions and hints without doing this? Have pondered and thrown hands up about this before.

=============

The special issue of Journal of Australian Studies that Jacqueline Lo and I are guest-editing is almost done. I’ve just re-worked the (hopefully penultimate) version of our critical introduction and will have some last-minute collation to do next week. Can I just profess my undying appreciation of RAs (research assistants) here? I don’t know what I would’ve done without them in recent times. I find myself over-committed on too many fronts (and, yes, this is the same lament you heard at the beginning of this year. I’m still wearing all the hats I complained about. Go, me!).

Things coming up on the horizon:

  • Fieldtrip to north Queensland,
  • Panel presentation at University of Sydney,
  • (probable) Paper and attendance at InASA conference in Brisbane in late Nov,
  • Submission of collaborative grant proposal (with colleagues here at Monash),
  • (probable) Applications for Future Fellowship and QE II (end of Oct 08 and Feb/March 09 respectively),
  • (ongoing) journal editorship, research network convenorship, list moderation/bulletin compilation, fellowship writing, ARC project background/contextual research (and planning for fieldwork in 2009).

That’s all I can think of at the moment, and it’s already enough to make me mope.

=============

We’ve been hearing from K. and C. while they’ve been poncing around Japan and China. No sympathies here for their blisters and sore backs from trekking through/around Tiger Leaping Gorge! I’ve turned into the kind of person who looks forward to weekends and bemoans the arrival of Mondays. I swore I’d never do that (cos, in that shiny time, I would only be doing work that was utterly fun and satisfying, natch).

Here are some other things I swore I’d never do (and have done):

  • Get married.
  • Say ‘those people’.
  • Become a parent.
  • Watch a Steven Seagal movie again after Glimmer Man.
  • Fly JetStar.
5 thoughts on “>The thrills, they be cheap

  1. Book Boy 29/08/2008 / 2:11 pm

    >i have one question Tseen – OMG Jetstar? What happened? Obviously my influence is waning as I thought u no longer did jetstar/virgin;-)

  2. lbw 30/08/2008 / 9:10 am

    >Steven Seagal hehe. I read once that he thinks he is the reincarnation of one of the Tibetan lamas! Or someone has told him he is or something like that. I watched one Seagal movie once…he was a chef on a navy ship. There was a fight scene in the kitchen. That’s all I remember!

  3. tseen 31/08/2008 / 4:51 am

    >Hi Book BoyAll I can say is that there aren’t that many flights from Melb to Cairns direct, so, unless you cool your heels in a Syd or Bris airport for a few hours, Jetstar is one’s only choice! I’ve only done it once, though, and swore never to do it again (and haven’t as yet…*fingers crossed*). I do, however, still fly Virgin quite often – short-haul – what can I say, it’s still cheaper for frequent travel! ;)============Heya LBWYou would be referring to that classic Seagal film _Under Siege_ (which is one of the better ones, btw…though tis a relative scale). Yes, I used to watch heaps of them and they’ve always been pretty bad, but _Glimmer Man_ reached a new low… :DT.

  4. lbw 01/09/2008 / 7:10 am

    >oh my goodness you know your steven seagal films 😮

  5. tseen 01/09/2008 / 7:37 am

    >LBW – I know, and people find out about this fact and still stay buddies with me. It’s v. generous of them. ;)T.

Leave a Reply

