>Melbourne AA Meetup – February 2006 – The Report

>It will always be the case that every write-up I do for the Asian Australian meetups is part restaurant review, part wannabe-Who writer. That there’s your warning for tragic prose, so enter at your own risk…

J.Lo in Canberra one day, J.Kwok in Melbourne the next. It’s a tough life but someone’s got to live it. Last Sunday, the Melbourne gang got together for their February meetup at Spicy Fish in Chinatown, on Tom’s recommendation. The restaurant promised authentic Szechuan and Shanghai cuisine and the décor was a nice balance between cosy budget café and stripped-back, non-flocked-wallpaper Chinese restaurant.

There were eight of us in all; it was great to meet Judy and Shermaine, my Monash buddy Sara came along, Jen was there of course (handing out The NEW Alien Invader #5 like so much street candy), and the other stalwart Melbournites were Tom, Suz, and Chi. Out of all the delish food, I’d have to say my favourite was the shredded eel. The dish I chose – in a last minute panic cos the waiter told me my first choice was ‘a kind of soup’ – was fresh tofu and preserved egg. It’s not something I would normally have chosen, steering rather clear of ye olde preserved egg as I do, but I’d definitely have it again. Ah, expanding those horizons. It can happen even after you’re 30…hah.

I’m trying to recall what we actually talked about and can’t actually come up with specifics. All I know is that folks didn’t really shut up for close on three hours. Two things I do remember: boring Jen with details about the ‘Responding to Cronulla’ symposium, and Suz being aghast that Sara hated Walk the Line.

Thanks to Tom for pointing us to Spicy Fish, and hope to see you at the next meetup!

Leave a Reply

